THE WALRUS SAID . . . . . . . . . . . being a bookish blog

Sunday, May 27, 2018

The Biblio File: images of books, for bibliophiles

Henri Matisse

Chapter One: Don't you love a memorable opening line?

You would think it would be impossible to find anything new in the world, creatures no man has ever seen before, one-of-a-kind oddities in which nature has taken a backseat to the coursing pulse of the fantastical and the marvelous.

The Museum of Extraordinary Things
Alice Hoffman

"They say it's your birthday" - writers born on May 27th

John Barth  (1930)
Rachel Carson  (1907)
John Cheever  (1912)
Edmund Morris  (1940)
Linda Pastan  (1932)
Herman Wouk  (1915)